kitchen / renovations / thoughts

What was I thinking

I work outside and lately I have been passing this store called Ollie’s every day…its some sort of outlet store like Big Lots.  And every day that I pass it I say to myself that I need to go in there and check it out.  Today was that day.  As soon as I got off work I made a bee line for it and it was well worth the trip.  Oh man this store is crammed tight with loads and loads of bargains.  I picked up a few things like grout sealer, a trim handbook (so I can fix my door trim), a daily devotional book (I couldn’t pass a Max Lucado book for $1.99), shower curtain liner (since I “re-purposed” the one I had in the bathroom as a tarp to cover my cabinet on the porch), laundry detergent, wasp spray, a nylon tarp (so I don’t have to use shower curtains), drywall corner tool, and loads of junk like that.  I was only in there a couple of HOURS, I spent less than $50 and everything I brought I need immediately…except the books.

As I was walking through the store picking up things I wondered to myself am I going through some sort of crisis and turning into a shop-a-holic?  Is my kitchen remodel just an excuse to justify spending a crap load of money nearly every day?  I have had some real things happen lately and this kitchen remodel has taken a huge load off my mind so I don’t know but tonight I am going to think on it and in the morning with my prayers I am going to pray on it.

No matter what my reasoning is…at least I will have a nice kitchen in the end.  I will have to put something in my new kitchen in memory of my women…my sister, my mom, my grandmothers, and my  neighbor, all who have passed away.  I think I like that idea. It may be a little old-fashioned to put memorabilia of women in my kitchen but they were no feminist and neither am I.  I will add a little something to honor them and hopefully their spirits will conjour anytime I go in the kitchen attempting to cook something, resulting in me being a more enthusiastic and better cook.  Maybe then I can safely keep the smoke detector up and not set it off every time I fire up the stove.  MAYBE?

My only goal in the house today was to seal the cement wall so I better get busy.  I can’t wait for the weekend!!!

From Max Lucado:
The box ripped, the faucet clogged, and my heart, for a time, sank. Not a moment too soon, I heard the invitation of the still-running fountain.  “If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink.“  God describes himself as “the fountain of living water.”  (John 7:37-38).
Thank him for the faucets, but don’t trust them to nourish you.  Thank him for the boxes in which his gifts come, but don’t fail to open them.  And most of all, don’t fail to read the note:
Dear child of mine.  Are you thirsty?  Come and drink.  I delight in you.  I will never fail or forsake you!
Feel free to comment here

