ceiling / demo / kitchen / renovations / thoughts

Ten steps forward- two steps back

I came home changed clothes so I can start work in the kitchen and ate my supper, a delicious salad from Arby’s.  After I ate I decided I can’t do anything in the kitchen tonight.  I am aching so I figured I better take a break tonight.  Its raining cats and dogs and I suspect that is contributing to the aches.  Tomorrow will be day three on this new medication, hopefully it will be built up enough for substantial relief.  And no I am not making excuses for going to bed early just because its thundering and lightening and the lights keep going out.  I am not scared!! pal-leeze.  eyes shift left, right, left.  hmmmph

Oh and thanks Curt…I decided to take my ceiling down and do the whole thing over so it will be nice and smooth and hopefully even and then I can add those corner beads to the wall/ceiling union.  Happy now?  LOL.  As the snowball effect goes….if the ceiling raises that one inch on the left then that means I have to make a whole new range hood box.   I am not looking forward to this but I know I will be happier in the end.  Heck I been without a kitchen for 2 months another week is not going to hurt.

I put a ceiling over the old ceiling and if it is possible to toss and turn while you are awake I did that…all day long today …thinking about this stupid ceiling.  I concluded that I might as well go ahead and do it right after every scenario of what can go wrong went through my head.  Ugggh…I am kicking myself in the butt for not taking it down while I had nothing on the walls including paint BUT you know what they say… better late than never.  I am getting up at dawn  and letting the demo begin once again.  I did call a contractor and ask him to send one of his drywall guys over to help me but I have a sneaking suspicion he will not show cause he said he didn’t have time to do it until Tuesday and the only helper he can possibly send tomorrow speaks no English. I told him I have a translator on my computer.  He even had to laugh at that one.  I hate to call people in a state of emergency and if he doesn’t get here till Tuesday I won’t be mad.  My lack of planning is certainly not his emergency.  Anyway it might take me that long to get the old ceiling down.

I am going to try and get some more stuff out of here tomorrow as well.  I thought about how I can jam pack that little storage unit I am renting outside.  I need as much off the floor as possible as this place is a deadly maze. I darn near killed myself a few times trying to climb over stuff.  I don’t know how hoarders live in a mess.

Oh and  I  do have to make a trip to Lowes in the morning for some blue tape and plastic so I can tape everything off in here cause I know this is gonna be one big mess.

hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

(that’s a sigh)

Hopefully I will be feeling better tomorrow.

Pain or not this ceiling is coming dowwwwwwn.

 

2 thoughts on “Ten steps forward- two steps back

  1. Hope you do not toss and turn all night. You gonna need your strength tomorrow to tear that ceiling down. Thinking good thoughts on the sheet rock guy showing up Tomorrow. If not Tuesday will rawk. Bad I know.

    Like

    • Its 3:41 AM and I just woke up. I am going to get me some water, finish checking my computer stuff and forcing myself back to sleep. I really meant to take a sleeping pill last night but I forgot. I knew this would happen if I didn’t. Too late now

      Like

Feel free to comment here

