DIY Crafting / Projects / renovations

Repurposed China Cabinet…the Bottom Half

Well I am not sure if Mrs W would like what I did with the bottom of her china cabinet or not.  But I did it and there is no turning back.  I saw some hand painted furniture on Pinterest that I really like and I wanted that as my jump off point for inspiration.  Now remember I look at my inspiration photos but when I do a project I do my own thing and  just use the inspiration photo as a base concept or…inspiration.  What a concept huh?  LOL.  These pieces as they are do not fit in my scheme but they are pretty.

I used to paint things a lot.  Furniture, ceramics, walls, plaques whatever I could get my hands on.  I haven’t done it in a while and I am kindda rusty at it. For simplicity sake instead of me calling Mrs W’s bottom half of the china cabinet “the bottom half” lets call it the drawers.  I was a bit nervous about doing the drawers free hand so I went out and purchased the Martha Stewart stencil Torino from Michael’s (since I had a 20% off coupon for my birthday).  I first went to Lowes to get it but they do not sell it.   I learnt that Lowe’s didn’t carry it after arguing the Lowe’s store associate down that I saw it in there.  LOL…whatever.

They sell a limited supply of MS stencils in Home Depot but not this one.

I thought the stencil was pretty delicate and would probably be a good match for the inspiration photo but I wasn’t 100% happy with it because I am not really a frilly kindda gal.  The other supplies I purchased was the Bella Acrylic paint set that I told you I purchased at Home Depot previously

I also got a can of Loctite Spray Adhesive the LIGHT version…it says that it is  repositionable and that’s what I wanted… so I can move my stencil around and use it in different spots.  I had to go to Barnes and Nobles to get the bird book for the bird photos.  I looked though all of them and the only one that had the photos in proper scale for my project and really nice color photos was National Audubon Society Pocket Guide Familiar Birds of North America East

I painted the drawers with two coats of Valspar Toasted Almond and when it was dry I laid it on its back to be able to paint it easier.

While I was waiting for  the paint to dry I cut out my bird photos out of the book with an exacto knife and a brand new blade.  I picked about 13 birds out.  Mrs W (Louise) favorite bird was the cardinal.  I found one and of course I HAVE to use it.

BTW…I got a sample counter top from Surplus Warehouse and I use it as a desk for all my exacto projects LOL.  Its the perfect size, washable, and abusable…to a certain extent.

When I first started I searched the house high and low and could not find the freaking spray adhesive anywhere.  Martha instructs you to use some blue tape and tape the stencil to the surface.  I knew this wasn’t going to work but I tried it anyway.  This is what happens without the glue on the back of the stencil.  It smudged.  I had actually fixed this a little before I thought about taking the photo, which is why the leaves are so big.

That is not cool at all!  I had to go back to Lowes to get another can. When you spray the back of the stencil with the adhesive it sticks to the surface and does not allow the paint to bleed from under it. It comes out a bit cleaner. I should note that it stinks like burnt rubber…ewwl…but it does the job, so pick your battle.   This is how it looks using the stencil glued down.  I took this photo before I really cleaned my lines up but after I made the leaves larger.  I forget sometimes…

 

I like shaded colors so I used a paper plate to put the colors on like this and I used a small flat brush to paint with.  One for greens, one for brown and one for the red (flowers).  You can learn a little more about how to paint from Youtube.  From there its all experimentation.  You can practice on a piece of board to see if you can do it or not.  I mucked up a few things and had to go over them.  It’s been a while since I painted.  This was a time when I wished my ex husband was around.  He painted beautifully.  OMG he would have taken this idea and flew with it.  but? LOL

 

I put the stencil down and painted, lifted the stencil and moved to a different part of the drawers.

I am not the most patient person in the world and this was taking too long and getting on my last nerve.  I decided to abandon the stencil and paint freehand.  Wow that felt so liberating.  I am not being factious or anything…I really mean it.  I increased the scale of the leaves and went to town.  The left side of the drawers was half stencil and half hand painted, the right side more free style.

When the paint dried I painted it with a top coat of Modge Podge gloss formula and then I applied my birds in the tacky Modge Podge and smoothed them on.  I did not put any on top of the birds yet as doing it now will make them wrinkle and/or bulge.  I will do the top coat tomorrow.  Everything has to get a top coat anyway, so the piece of furniture will be washable.  (I will wash it with water when needed, not scrub it or use chemicals)

For tonight I am finished.  Tomorrow I will probably use the stencil and try to make the right side look a little closer to the left side and I MIGHT add a couple more birds.  I did not do the sides as they will not be visible.  What do you think of it so far?

I like it…

UPDATE:

This is the finished product.  I messed with it here and there but I am now officially finished with it!!

2 thoughts on “Repurposed China Cabinet…the Bottom Half

  1. Just a little more fill in on the right will easily make the sides match. Painting on walls I can do . As in with roller and brush. Painting pictures is impossible for me. I really like it. I am sure Louise is smiling down on you.

    Like

Feel free to comment here

