laundry room / Projects / Thrift store finds

for Towels n Stuff

Okay so I have no linen closet in here and my stuff in my laundry room is all over the place.  I clean it up and a few days later I am back to this and that corner was screaming for something to relieve me of this problem.

IMG_0583

I went to TROSA thrift store and found this cabinet and you will not believe the price.  WHAT??

IMG_0576  IMG_0579

It needed a bit of work.  There was no buying this piece and using it as is.  The top had all these screw holes in in

IMG_0582

and the bottom had no holes for legs.

IMG_0577

I had some refrigerator casters I decided to put on.  I purchased them for 50 cents a long time ago and never had anything to use them on.  When I say a long time ago I mean like 10 years ago.  LOL.  I knew they would come in handy one day.  I had to drill holes in the bottom and that was easy enough.  Now that it had legs it was good.  I  filled the holes with wood putty,  sanded it lightly with a fine sanding block then primed it.  I wanted to etch the glass because I did not want the clear glass to show all my junk.  I taped some stripes in the glass and put a monkey stencil on it.

IMG_0589

Well I did not read far enough in the directions that the etching cream does not work well on large surfaces and I totally messed up my glass. I tried putting it on more than once but it did not take.  I will spare you the details and photos.

I scraped what I could off on the glass and revamped my plan.  I purchased Rust-Oleum Frosted Glass spray paint and sprayed it on and added some cut out letters letting everyone know this was for towels and stuff.

oval

I started to write towels and junk but then I might be tempted to fill it with junk.  Defeats the purpose, ya know what I mean?    I need reminders like this as I get older cause I swear I can’t find anything any more.  At first I thought the frost did not take because I sprayed and the glass looked clear.  I sprayed a few minutes later, still clear.  I shook up the can real good and sprayed again…still clear.  WTF.  Finally I left it alone  and walked away from it.  About 30 minutes later I glanced at it and it was frosted.  It sprays on clear then dries frosted.  Duhhhh. Patience grasshopper.

When I opened the cabinet I found I had gotten some paint on the inside.  I wet my fine sanding block and scrubbed it off.  It came right out.

IMG_0595 IMG_0597

I love the way the glass feels and looks.  I need to find another excuse to use this spray!!

IMG_0603[1]

 

before_n_after

Total project price:

Cabinet         4.99
wheels           .50
paint           2.99  Color is Valspar Homestead Resort Parlour Rasberry) used 1/2 the bottle
wood putty   1.50
vinyl           1.00 (est. usage)
==================================
Drum roll please… $10.98

GOD I LOVE THRIFTING!!

Do you shop for furniture pieces and then revamp them?

2 thoughts on “for Towels n Stuff

  1. This is brilliant! I love thrifting for furniture but after my boys turned 2 I stopped bc they demolished everything. They are 15 and 16 now and a soon as they turn 18 I’m kicking them out, gutting the house and starting over!

    Like

Feel free to comment here

